

International Association of Refugee Law Judges

established at Warsaw, 18 september 1997

16 December 2011

Regional Conference of the Australasian Chapter of the IARLJ

Dear Member

We are writing to invite you to attend a regional conference of the Australasian Chapter of the Association, to be held at the Monash University Law Chambers, 555 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne on 3 February 2012.

The conference arises out of discussions we had in Geneva in November this year with the UNHCR. The Association plans to have a series of events over the next two years in Australasia, Europe. Africa, central Asia and east Asia that will culminate in the 10th World Congress of the Association in the second half of 2013, currently proposed to be held in Seoul, South Korea. The Melbourne conference is the first event in this programme. We will provide the membership with further details about the other events during the course of next year.

The programme for the Melbourne conference is well advanced and will be issued next month. At this stage, the confirmed speakers are:

- The Hon. Chris Bowen, Minister for Immigration and Citizenship:
- Dr Alice Edwards, Senior Legal Co-ordinator and Chief of Protection Policy and Legal Advice section, Division of International Protection, UNHCR, Geneva;
- Justice Tony North, Federal Court of Australia;
- Dr Irene O'Connell, Principal Reviewer, IPAO;
- Professor Pene Mathew, Australian National University;
- Professor Susan Kneebone, Monash University;
- Associate Professor Michelle Foster, University of Melbourne;
- Martin Treadwell, Member Immigration and Protection Tribunal, New Zealand;
- Federal Magistrate Rolf Driver, Federal Magistrates Court;
- Linda Kirk, Senior Member, Migration Review Tribunal and Refugee Review Tribunal.

The conference is intended to address current issues of practice, procedure and law impacting upon the work of members and to provide both a training opportunity and an opportunity to exchange views on issues of current importance. Those issues include the transfer of work from the IPAO to the RRT and the competing

Website: www.iarlj.org

Secretariat: P.O. Box 1621 2003 BR Haarlem The Netherlands Tel: +31 23 888 3956 Fax: +31 23 888 3979 E-mail: info@iarli.org

Officers: President: Sebastiaan de Groot District Court Haarlem - The Netherlands T: +31 23 888 3956 F: +31 23 888 3979

Immediate Past President: Justice Tony North Federal Court of Australia Melbourne - Australia T: +61 3 8600 3618 +61 3 8600 3620

Vice-Presidents Federal Magistrate Rolf Driver Federal Magistrates Court Sydney - Australia T: +61 2 9377 5597 F: +61 2 9377 5559

Justice Kashim Zannah Chief Judge, High Court Borno State, Nigeria T: +234 8052 900090 E: kashimzannah@aol.com

Secretary/Treasurer: Jacek Chlebny Supreme Administrative Court T: +48 22 553 7800

E:Jacek.Chlebny@warszawa.wsa.gov.pl

Australasian Chapter Executive:

Chair: Linda Kirk Refugee Review Tribunal Melbourne - Australia T: +61 3 8600 5857 F: +61 3 8600 5801

Deputy Chair: Martin Treadwell Immigration and Protection Tribunal New Zealand T: +64 9 302 8457

F: +64 9 914 5263

dwell@justice.govt.nz

Treasurer: Federal Magistrates Court of Australia Melbourne – Australia T: +61 3 8600 3587 +61 3 8600 4493 E: heather.riley@fmc.gov.au

Secretary Sue Zelinka

Special Advisor Justice Tony North

Chapter Council: Ambeng Kandakasi

Supreme and National Court, PNG

Dr Irene O'Connell Independent Protection Assessment

Bridget Dingle Immigration and Protection Tribunal, NZ

Rolf Driver Federal Magistrates Court, AU

Chapter Administration Development Director: T: +61 2 9660 3682 E: suezelinka@bigpond.com



International Association of Refugee Law Judges

established at Warsaw, 18 september 1997

pressures of high work volume and the requirements of judicial review. The programme will also deal with recent developments in relation to particular social group claims, human trafficking in South East Asia, the Michigan Guidelines, particularly in relation to the internal protection alternative, the human rights perspective to refugee status determination, the UNHCR's perspective on current issues in asylum and protection law and the international perspective on complementary protection.

The conference will commence at 9.00am on 3 February and will conclude around 5.00pm. There will be an opportunity to enjoy refreshments after the formal proceedings conclude. There will also be a **conference dinner** on the evening of 3 February 2012.

Having regard to the fact that Association annual memberships fall due on 1 January 2012 (with the exception of those members who hold three year memberships which have not yet expired) the Chapter Governing Council has decided that there should be no registration fee for the conference for financial members of the Association. The conference dinner will be at the expense of those attending.

We enclose a membership renewal form which also invites you to confirm if you will be attending the conference and the conference dinner. It would assist if you could return the form as soon as possible, even if you hold a three year membership which has not yet expired. If you do not wish to renew your membership of the Association at this time you may still attend the conference as an observer, subject to payment of a registration fee of \$A50.

We look forward to seeing as many of you as possible at the Melbourne conference and wish you the compliments of the season.

Yours sincerely

Rolf Driver FM Vice President, IARLJ Linda Kirk Chair, Australasian Chapter, IARLJ

Anda Mil

Website: www.iarlj.org

Secretariat: P.O. Box 1621 2003 BR Haarlem The Netherlands Tel: +31 23 888 3956 Fax: +31 23 888 3979 E-mail: info@iarli.org

Officers: President: Sebastiaan de Groot District Court Haarlem - The Netherlands T: +31 23 888 3956 F: +31 23 888 3979

Immediate Past President: Justice Tony North Federal Court of Australia Melbourne - Australia T: +61 3 8600 3618 +61 3 8600 3620

Vice-Presidents Federal Magistrate Rolf Driver Federal Magistrates Court Sydney - Australia T: +61 2 9377 5597 F: +61 2 9377 5559

Justice Kashim Zannah Chief Judge, High Court Borno State, Nigeria T: +234 8052 900090 E: kashimzannah@aol.com

Secretary/Treasurer: Jacek Chlebny Supreme Administrative Court T: +48 22 553 7800 E:Jacek.Chlebny@warszawa.wsa.gov.pl

<u>Australasian Chapter Executive:</u> Chair:

Linda Kirk Refugee Review Tribunal Melbourne - Australia T: +61 3 8600 5857 F: +61 3 8600 5801

Deputy Chair: Martin Treadwell Immigration and Protection Tribunal New Zealand T: +64 9 302 8457

F: +64 9 914 5263

dwell@justice.govt.nz

Treasurer: Federal Magistrates Court of Australia Melbourne – Australia T: +61 3 8600 3587 +61 3 8600 4493 E: heather.riley@fmc.gov.au

Secretary Sue Zelinka

Special Advisor Justice Tony North

Chapter Council: Ambeng Kandakasi

Supreme and National Court, PNG

Dr Irene O'Connell Independent Protection Assessment

Bridget Dingle Immigration and Protection Tribunal, NZ

Rolf Driver Federal Magistrates Court, AU

Chapter Administration Development Director: T: +61 2 9660 3682 E: suezelinka@bigpond.com